Nominate your student for the Bergmann-Wheeler Thesis Prize for quantum gravity

Gary Horowitz

Gary Horowitz is President of the ISGRG

In 2008, the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation instituted a Thesis Prize in memory of two great pioneers of quantum gravity: Professors Peter Bergmann (1915–2002) and John Wheeler (1911–2008). This prize is sponsored by Classical and Quantum Gravity and is awarded for the best PhD thesis in the broad area encompassing all approaches to quantum gravity. The winner of the next iteration of the prize will receive a cheque for $1800 and a certificate.

The primary criteria for selection will be the high quality of scientific results, creativity and originality, and the significance of results to the broad area of the prize. The winner for this prize will be chosen by a committee of leading international experts in the field approximately six months before presentation of the prize at the GR21 conference in New York City.  Guidelines for the nomination can be found at, and completed nominations must be received by September 30, 2015.

The first Bergmann-Wheeler prize was awarded to Dr Victor Taveras from Louisiana State University at the 19th International Conference on General Relativity and Gravitation (GR19) in Mexico City. The award was made in recognition of Dr Taveras’ contributions to loop quantum cosmology and his development of a novel extension of loop quantum gravity.

The second prize was awarded to Dr Aron C Wall from the University of Maryland at GR20 in Warsaw, Poland. The award was made for his original and insightful proof of a local form of the generalized second law of thermodynamics.

Follow CQG+ by entering your email address in the ‘follow’ box at the foot of this page. Followers of CQG+ enjoy regular updates from the site at a schedule of their choosing and can unsubscribe at any time.

CQG papers are selected for promotion based on the content of the referee reports. The papers you read about on CQG+ have been rated ‘high quality’ by your peers.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.